One of 8 Wright buildings deemed world treasures

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Hollyhock House becomes L.A.’s first UNESCO World Heritage Site

Read This Story at Publisher

Location: CA-Los Angeles

Story Date: 7/7/2019

Publisher: Los Angeles Times   

Author: Mary Forgione

The Hollyhock House designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, a building that was almost demolished in the 1940s, earned Los Angeles its first UNESCO World Heritage Site designation Sunday. Built between 1918 and 1921 on a hill in East Hollywood, the house joins Wright’s more famous creations — the spiral-shaped Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City, Fallingwater in Pennsylvania, and Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Ariz. — that collectively recognize the genius of Wright’s architecture as a cultural global treasure.

Place Category: Attraction

Story Category: Industry Award